The two best games at Pax South 2017

PaxSouth was last weekend. I love Pax. Its so amazing to meet the developers there, and get to talk to them about this game they created, as well as just playing all the different and unique styles of games! Pax was really what got me into gaming in the first place, and made me appreciate all the hard work that goes into developing games, and how talented those awesome dev’s are.

Also, the creators of Cyanide and Happiness were at Pax, and meeting them was a dream come true. I had a little fangirl freakout moment.

I thought I’d do a short bit about the two games I’m looking the most forward to that were playable at Pax.

First off: Dauntless. Crrated by Phoenix Labs, this is the monster hunting game that I’ve been dreaming of.  At Pax, they had the combat demo available, where you could pick from 4 characters, each with their own unique weapons and abilities. The game graphics are colored beautifully and the game runs smoothly and is fun and challenging. The fighting style reminded me a lot of the witcher 3, and it’s a great experience. I can’t wait to play with friends! My understanding is there will be more characters, and you’ll level up your weapons, and your weapons and gear can then be used with any character. Coming free-to-play to PC this year!

Secondly: Earthfall. This is the first full game being put out by Holospark development studio, and the concept art for the game is amazing. This game was inspired by games like Left for Dead,  so for right now it’s kind of a shoot and run, shoot and hide, run to the shelter game, but with aliens. There were a couple cool things about this, like the futuristic idea of using a 3-d printer to “print” weapons. I’m always excited about alien games, so I’m holding out hope that there will be more to the game then that. I believe in you, Earthfall. Coming to PC early access this year, and PS4 and Xbox One later.

There were a ton of great games at Pax, and awesome studios. If you’re a video game fan I definently recommend checking out pax. It’s such a great experience.

2 thoughts on “The two best games at Pax South 2017

  1. Dauntless looks amazing but I am a little scared that the game isn’t big enough because it is a F2P game. But after watching the gameplay trailers etc. I must say the game’s visuals look good and the audio is amazing :)! I am very curious about this game !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

