First Thoughts on Ghost Recon: Wildlands Open Beta

Let’s talk about the Ghost Recon: Wildlands beta. I spent the last couple days playing it both co-op and single player with AI, and I am loving it so far!

The cut scene at the beginning lays out a very interesting storyline that I can’t wait to be a part of. You, and your elite team of “ghosts” are tasked with infiltrating Bolivia to dismantle the Santa Blanca drug cartel.

The game is open world and the map is absolutely beautiful and huge. The open world game style creates a fun experience, because there is always missions to do and so you never feel lost. You can choose to follow the main story, or do any number of side quests you stumble on.

Wildlands is a challenging game. You can get killed in just a couple shots, so stealth, sniping and marking targets is important. It’s not all “guns blazing” all the time. I have really enjoyed all the different types of objectives, weapons, and vehicles there are available to use. There are also smaller, subtle things I enjoyed about it, like the regular everyday civilians just trying to live their lives in the towns, and the car radio station that had the comedians telling jokes. This was a nice change of pace, and provided a little chuckle!

Another thing that I have really enjoyed about this game so far is the community. I have met a couple of really awesome players that I plan on teaming up with again, which is a nice change from the toxic community on Ubisoft’s For Honor game that can make it unenjoyable.
Overall, I really enjoyed this open beta and am looking forward to digging more into this when the full game comes out!!

Did you play the Wildlands open beta? What were your thoughts?

6 thoughts on “First Thoughts on Ghost Recon: Wildlands Open Beta

    1. I’m not very good at shooter games either. My husband had to keep reviving me and reminding me it’s supposed to be a “stealth” game. Haha!
      I really liked for honor at the beginning when everyone could play at about the same level and have a good time. I don’t want to be whiny. But now I feel like some people in the community are so way advanced in their level they can kill me before I even take a swing, which is fine where there is only one or two of them per teams, but I feel the teams are rarely evenly matched.
      There has to he a better way to divide up players who are way higher levels to play with other players that rank because when I’m getting murdered by four of them and can’t even play the game isn’t even fun anymore. Also, dudes are just jerks on for honor. It’s the worst community I’ve run into. So right now I’m enjoying playing the campaign.

      Like

      1. I agree completely! It seems far too easy to just grab someone and throw them off the map, too.
        Don’t even start me on stealth games! I much prefer the ‘kill all witnesses’ approach ;D

        Like

Leave a Reply

