My Top 12 Sci-Fi Movie Picks of All Time

Science Fiction is my favorite genre of everything. Movies, books, formal attire. Its the best. Here are 12 Sci-Fi movies that are my absolute favorites. (I have excluded the Star Wars/Marvel Movies from this list, because they get enough hype already.) Let me know what you think!

Starship Troopers (1997)

This satirical comedy follows Johnny Rico, a young soldier in a futuristic military unit called the Mobile Infantry. Johnny’s military career progresses from recruit to officer, while in the midst of an galactic war between mankind and the insecticide species known as the “Arachnids.” This movie is hilarious, imaginative, and also just downright entertaining. A win in the comedy, sci-fi, and action genres all around.

Aliens (1986)

A sequel to the 1979 movie “Alien,”  This film follows Ripley for a second time, as she returns to the planet where her crew first encountered the Alien species. I like this movie only a little bit better than the original Alien, although the whole Alien anthology is definitely a work of art.

Predators (2010)

Royce, a mercenary, appears in an unidentifiable jungle, only to find that he and several other less-than-friendly people have been abducted, and set down on a planet which serves as a game reserve for two warring tribes of extraterrestrials. I really enjoyed this movie, I am a big Adrian Brody fan. I don’t think its as good as the original Predator with Schwarzenegger, but I would still call it my favorite. But once again, all the Predator films are great.

The Terminator (1984)

In the future, machines have all but taken over. With its only goal being to completely erase humanity from existence, Skynet, an Artificial Intelligence network, develops robot assassins called Terminators that outwardly appear human, to hunt down what is left of the surviving human race. John Connor starts the resistance to fight and defeat Skynet, and with a human victory imminent, the machines’ only choice is to send a Terminator back in time to kill John’s mother, Sarah. The Terminator movies are classics, amazing, the first of their kind. Both The Terminator and T2 are amazing films.

 Equilibrium (2002)

This movie follows John Preston, an enforcement officer in a future where both feelings and artistic expression are forbidden.To maintain order, citizen take daily injections of drugs to suppress their feelings. After John misses an injection, he experiences emotions for the first time, and begins to question his own morality and actions.

Minority Report (2002)

Set is Washington DC in the year 2054, the special police department of “precrime” apprehends criminals before they act, based upon foreknowledge provided by three psychics. This movie came out about the same time as Equilibrium, and they are along the same vein in both style and feel. I enjoy them both very much, as they remind me a lot of George Orwell’s 1984, one of my favorite books of all time.

Jurassic Park (1993)

The film is set on the Isla Nublar, where an eccentric millionaire and a team of genetic scientists have created a wildlife park of cloned dinosaurs. This movie is a classic, and everyone’s dream. Based on an amazing book, it is an amazing Sci-fi movie.

The Matrix (1999)

The Matrix depicts a terrible future in which perceived reality is actually a simulation called “the Matrix”, created by machines to subdue the human population. Neo learns the truth, and is pulled into a war with the machines. This is one of the first movies that drew me into the science fiction genre. What an incredible tale.

Twelve Monkeys (1996)

A deadly virus released in 1996 wipes out almost all of humanity, and forces survivors to live deep underground. In 2035, James Cole is selected for a mission, to be sent back in time to locate the original virus in order to help scientists develop a cure. This is an interesting movie, and it’s gritty and well done. Great action, sci-fi and mystery.

Moon (2009)

The film follows Sam Bell, an astronaut who experiences an identity crisis as he nears the end of his three-year solo mission mining helium-3 on the Moon. This is an interesting movie with an excellent plot. It can be slow at times, since it’s just the protagonist and his robot, but it’s an excellent work of science fiction overall.

Edge of Tomorrow/Live Die Repeat (2014)

The movie takes place in the year 2020, after Earth has been invaded by an alien species called the Mimics. Bill Cage is killed fighting the Mimics, but finds himself in a time loop that sends him back to the day before the battle begins each time he dies. I liked this movie, it was an interesting plot that I had never seen before, it was definitely a win in my book.

What did you think about my list? What would you have added or taken away?

 

37 thoughts on “My Top 12 Sci-Fi Movie Picks of All Time

  1. Great list, really like those films as well! I’d probably have Alien, the Terminator, and Predator 2 (because I love how different it is from the original) instead of Edge of Tomorrow/Live Die Repeat, and Equilibrium from your list. Otherwise I think my list would be about the same for Sci-Fi.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My husband says Equilibrium was a terrible movie, I think I was the only person who liked it! Good picks. I received the whole collection of alien and Predator movies for christmas a couple years ago, best gift ever. The Terminators are great, but the third one was a huge letdown unfortunately.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, I must admit I’m not a fan of Equilibrium much. That Alien Predator set sounds great, I’ve got a dvd set of the Alien films, and Predator 1 & 2 in a double pack. Great films. Oh yes, T3 was terrible wasn’t it, I try and pretend that film never got made LOL 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. The Last Starfighter (1987), Highlander (1986), Star Wars (1977), Event Horizon (1997), A Boy and his Dog (1975), Tron (1982), Heavy Metal (1981), Avatar (2009), Explorers (1985), Blade Runner (1982), 2001: A Space Odyssey (1968), The Andromeda Strain (1971), Godzilla(1954), Dr. Strangeglove (1964), Planet of the Apes (1968), Mad Max (1979), The Fifth Element (1997), Guardians of the Galaxy (2014).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve seen all the older ones on your list but none from the last decade or so; I like your picks so I’ll see about watching the newer ones! Life just got away from me for awhile and I missed a lot of movies!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I know, I feel that way sometimes, too. And then I get surprised! But then there’s that saying, “everything old is new again.” and that’s fun when remakes are made. Movies are SO amazing now!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Seriously…what a great list! Aliens, Predators, Terminator are all movies that I have seriously enjoyed as a sci fi fan. I have recently seen the Terminator again, and it is amazing, that after so many years, it is still every bit as awesome 😊 Moon is the only movie on this list that I have not yet seen, but seeing that is on this list,and all the other ones that are included, I will definitely soon correct that mistake 😀 Great post 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Cool! You got Equilibrium on there. It was a bit wonky and had some big plot holes, but I still loved it. Great list, but I’d add Buckaroo Banzai just for John Lithgow and the sheer audacity of the story.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. There weren’t any video games when I was growing up – yup – back in those dinosaur days!! The last video game I played was still with the big table console kind that I’m sure your grandparents told you about. But it is still a great pleasure to meet you.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Actually when I was growing up, TV was becoming cheap enough to be in most homes and we would glue ourselves to the screen. The generation before me was best, they had more imagination, creativity and problem solving answers than we did. The more I learn about them, the more I dread a world without them!!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. From a list above, I second these: Definitely: Highlander (1986), Star Wars (1977), Blade Runner (1982), 2001: A Space Odyssey (1968), The Andromeda Strain (1971); on the “maybe” list: A Boy and his Dog (1975), Tron (1982), Heavy Metal (1981); I note that “Moon” (which I also liked quite a bit though it was not a mainstream hit) looks suspiciously similar to 2001 in a number of ways. Some stories either need to be made or made with the right team. (e.g. the story “I, Robot” is awesome, but the movie not so much)

    Like

Leave a comment